Training for some light touring

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BigMeatball

Hello guys, as per title, I've had the mad idea of getting into cycling with the aim of doing some light touring next year.

I hope you guys can help me tackle this challenge and give me some good advice on the training aspect.

So, my current situation in short:
- haven't been on a bike for over a decade
- I am heavy (just over 100kg) but I'm not a couch potato; I've been doing weightlifting for a few years. Power is not an issue, it's the stamina/endurance part that worries me
- I don't have a bike yet but I'm in the process of buying one. Will definitely have one by end of next month
- I've been cycling on the wattbike at my gym once a week for the last 2 months, covering distances from 10 to 20km and keeping what I consider to be an okay pace (30-35 km/h speed and always above 150 avg watts)

My goal is to do some touring next spring probably around May/June, covering 90-100km a day for 3-4 days. I plan to travel very light (stay in airbnb's and eat out) and I'll never say no to a cake&coffee stop along the way.

How would you suggest I tackle this challenge when I have a real bike? Should I work up to the daily distance I want to cover (say 100km) or should I even do more to make sure I'm not going to be exhausted after day 1 of my touring adventure? I will probably be able to cycle only once a week still.

Also, what equipment do you suggest I get for the training and what are the aspects I should pay attention to? I'm thinking things such as fitness watch/power meter/bike gps....

Please feel free to share your experiences and suggestions.

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
Initially I wouldn’t be buying any gadgets, download the free Strava App to your phone, this would record your route, mileage, average speed etc. It’s good to keep a track of your progress, for me it was quite a motivator too.