This Could Be An Expensive Hobby?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Doc333

Knight Of The Realm & All Around Good Guy
Guys, I'm a newbie and just getting into cycling for fitness, and to be fair I enjoy the scenery. I went out and bought a Cannondale Synapse AL 105 Disc, and love it as it looks fantastic. I did however choose this bike because I'm knocking on and dont think a race position would suit my old bones, so needed something a bit more relaxed and this steed is supposed to be an endurance bike. I also had mudguards fitted because I want to get out on it through the winter and have a dry backside, and I may even use it for the commute.

So far I seem to have spent a bomb as I'm starting from scratch (Rapha kit is fantastic) a couple of winter base layers, a couple of pair of strides, waterproof map, drink bottles, warm hat, waterproof/winter gloves, Garmin Edge 200, waterproof/winter coat, glasses, multi-tool etc. However I reckon I could spend a fortune yet and still believe there are some essentials I don't have. I have no idea how to sort a puncture out so don't have a pump or spare tube? in fact I would be struggling to sort the chain out if it came off. Maybe I should invest in a sherpa to accompany me? Obviously I need to prioritise some important things, and maybe i should think about joining a cycle club as at least I will have someone to teach me in the event of a mishap. I don't feel ready to join a club yet as I would find it embarrasing being left in their wake before the first mile marker. I've only been out 4 times with 2 rides of 8-miles, one ride of 10-miles and one ride of 12-miles. I seem to be only averaging around 11 mph which is a bit shoddy and although I've only had the bike a week I feel I need to get fitter before speaking to anyone who may think I know what I'm doing because I may look the part.